Skip to content

Circumcision of the Heart

November 15, 2007

 

Circumcision of the Heart

If I want the “renewed mind” of Rom 12:1-2; if I want to really be able to love God with ALL heart, soul, mind, strength, then I believe I must submit to circumcision of the heart. I must invite GOD to remove the band of flesh, all the bitter roots, to tear them out. Only then can the Holy Spirit flow freely.

I must cleanse the clay vessel that is me, if I am to be used for anything noble: 2Ti 2:21 If a man therefore purge himself from these, he shall be a vessel unto honour, sanctified, and meet for the master’s use, and prepared unto every good work. It is extremely painful, but constructive pain.

CS Lewis wrote a great word picture. Book 3 in the Chronicles of Narnia “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader” tells of Eustace a tiresome, unpleasant boy, “perfectly beastly”. He turned into a dragon and was stuck in that condition for some time. Then he met Aslan and followed him to a well. The lion said he must undress to enter. Eustace peeled off three dragon skins but found himself yet a dragon. Quote from the book:

quote:


“Then the lion said- but I don’t know if it spoke- You will have to let me undress you. I was afraid of his claws, I can tell you, but I was pretty nearly desperate now. So I just lay flat on my back to let him do it. The very first tear he made was so deep that I thought it had gone right into my heart. And when he began pulling the skin off, it hurt worse than anything I’ve ever felt… Well, he peeled the beastly stuff right off- just as I thought I’d done it myself the other three times, only they hadn’t hurt- and there it was lying on the grass: only ever so much thicker, and darker, and more knobbly looking than the others had been.”



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

