Skip to content

“authenteo”, anger, malice, clamour

November 16, 2007

In 1 Tim 2:11-15 the word translated “usurp authority over” is “authenteo”

It is unique- occurring only once in the Bible- and implies very forceful behavior carrying the meaning: absolute master; murderous; autocratic.

One can pontificate endlessly about the meaning of the word… but I suspect the behavior Paul is describing is not limited to a window of time 2000 years ago when he wrote the letter to Timothy.

As a matter of fact, as I was thinking about it, I got to wondering if I have been guilty of it. I know I have been guilty of malice, rage, and clamour. I was very angry for quite a spell. Anger itself is not a sin (see Eph 4:26 “Be ye angry, and sin not”). But my anger regularly slid into sin and I felt very out of control over myself. I would yell, scream, cry, and- on a handful of occasions- I went so far as to bite, kick, and hit my husband. And I would quite regularly wish he was dead and daydream about that. I would accuse him of being a pharisee and lecture him about his need to go get help with his issues. Those of us who are over 40 may recall a sensational news story some time ago about Lorena Bobbit, who took a big carving knife and chopped off her husband’s eh hem…. “member”. Wouldn’t these be modern day examples of malice, rage, and maybe “authenteo”?

I spent many hours in self flagellation, prayer, repentance, and seeking divine aid to overcome my intense anger. I spent many hours meditating upon Ephesians 4:15-32

I did an in depth word study of each word in Eph 4:31 “Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice:”

“bitterness”– bitter gall, extreme wickedness, a bitter root, and so producing a bitter fruit

“wrath”– passion, angry, heat, anger forthwith boiling up and soon subsiding again, glow, ardour, the wine of passion, inflaming wine (which either drives the drinker mad or kills him with its strength)

“anger”-anger, the natural disposition, temper, character, movement or agitation of the soul, impulse, desire, any violent emotion, but esp. anger, anger, wrath, indignation, anger exhibited in punishment, hence used for punishment itself, of punishments inflicted by magistrates

“clamour”– a crying, outcry, clamour

“evil speaking”– slander, detraction, speech injurious, to another’s good name, impious and reproachful speech injurious to divine majesty

“malice”– malignity, malice, ill-will, desire to injure, wickedness, depravity, wickedness that is not ashamed to break laws, evil, trouble

Matthew 5:21-22 ¶ Ye have heard that it was said by them of old time, Thou shalt not kill; and whosoever shall kill shall be in danger of the judgment:
But I say unto you, That whosoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment: and whosoever shall say to his brother, Raca, shall be in danger of the council: but whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire.

Here are some related links which were helpful to me:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

