Skip to content

Mortal Danger

November 30, 2007

A sister in Christ was reading through my material here and asked, “What if a wife is in mortal danger?” so I want to answer that here.

I believe that God does not approve of abuse toward His beloved children. If a wife believes that she or the children are in mortal danger then I believe that marital separation (with the intention of eventual reconciliation) is an entirely permissable Biblical option for her.

Here are the biblical guidelines for separation:

1 Cor 7:10-11 And unto the married I command, yet not I, but the Lord, Let not the wife depart from her husband: But and if she depart, let her remain unmarried, or be reconciled to her husband: and let not the husband put away his wife.

Do you see the red words in there? I do not hear condemnation. I hear permission. I would urge a wife to make everything a matter of earnest prayer as much as she is able. I spent many hours crying out to the Lord, weeping, seeking His will, and “pounding on His chest” so to speak. I was prepared and had peace with God and freedom in my Spirit to leave if it became necessary to protect myself and my children (despite the lack of support for my inclinations among church people- they did not live in my house nor in my shoes). At many junctures, I would seek the Lord and hear His still small voice in the midst of the storms telling me “this is the way, walk ye in it”. The single most important thing for a wife to do is press deeply into the Lord, learn to hear and follow God’s voice. Other voices often conflicted, contradicted, confused. God’s voice gives conviction, encouragement, comfort, strength, wisdom, guidance, reassurance and peace in the midst of the storms.

Here are some related links which were helpful to me:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

