Skip to content

in Mary Magdelene's Sandals…

June 19, 2008

Mary Magdalene has
an intensely intimate encounter
with the Risen Lord
in the Garden.
HE calls her “woman”.
She thinks he is “the gardener”
HE calls her “Mary” and she KNOWS instantly it is HE…

Whoosh, I suddenly realized that the moment harks back to the first Adam and the first woman in the Garden.
Adam was assigned to be the KEEPER of the garden
He failed 😦
Jesus is the KEEPER who fulfills the assignment flawlessly.

Biblically, I find significant that the term “KEEPER” is used of man, woman, God, Jesus in the Garden…

Adam’s assignment:
Gen 2:15 08104 shamar {shaw-mar’}
AV – keep 283, observe 46, heed 35, keeper 28, preserve 21, beware 9,
mark 8, watchman 8, wait 7, watch 7, regard 5, save 2,

~~~~~~~

of a wife:
Titus 2:5– “keeper at home”
3626 oikouros from 3624 and ouros (a guard, be “ware”)

~~~~~~~

of God:
1 Peter 1:5kept/guarded/protected
5432 phroureo {froo-reh’-o} AV – keep
from a compound of 4253 and 3708 horao {hor-ah’-o}

~~~~~~~

the scripture says Mary Magdalene thinks Jesus is:
John 20:15– ” keeper of the garden”
2780 kepouros {kay-poo-ros’}
from 2779 and ouros (a warden);; n m

I identify with walking in Mary Magdelene’s sandals.
I can walk in the Garden with JESUS, the second Adam, the KEEPER who will not fail.
I can partake of intimacy with my risen Lord in the garden.
I can feel the intense gratitude for His mercy,
the intense security of His perfect love.
I can wash His feet with my tears and wipe them with my hair,
I can pour out my inheritance, my alabaster box of precious ointment… upon my Lord.
HE is worthy
HE is good

John 20:11 but Mary stood outside the tomb crying. As she wept, she bent over to look into the tomb 12and saw two angels in white, seated where Jesus’ body had been, one at the head and the other at the foot.13They asked her, “Woman, why are you crying?”

“They have taken my Lord away,” she said, “and I don’t know where they have put him.” 14At this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing there, but she did not realize that it was Jesus.

15“Woman,” he said, “why are you crying? Who is it you are looking for?”
Thinking he was the gardener, she said, “Sir, if you have carried him away, tell me where you have put him, and I will get him.”

16Jesus said to her, “Mary.”
She turned toward him and cried out in Aramaic, “Rabboni!” (which means Teacher).

17Jesus said, “Do not hold on to me, for I have not yet returned to the Father. Go instead to my brothers and tell them,

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

