Skip to content

How to “love life and see good days”

August 26, 2008

Did you know 1 Peter says you can “love life and see good days”? 🙂

Its a promise from God’s Word,
but it is conditional.
It is NOT conditional upon anything my husband does or does not do,
It is completely conditional upon my following Jesus role model.

I used to be very bitter and resentful. Once I became aware of these deeply rooted sins, I really stuggled with them and battled them for a couple years… but the Lord helped me dig out from their snares.

That whole book of 1 Peter is very deep and provided much wisdom and guidance for me… Indeed Jesus is given as the role model (to both husbands and wives)…. Look at the calling and the promises

21For even hereunto were ye called: because Christ also suffered for us, leaving us an example, that ye should follow his steps:

22 Who did no sin, neither was guile found in his mouth:

23 Who, when he was reviled, reviled not again; when he suffered, he threatened not; but committed himself to him that judgeth righteously:

1 ¶ Likewise, ye wives, …

7 Likewise, ye husbands, …

8 ¶ Finally, be ye all of one mind, having compassion one of another, love as brethren, be pitiful, be courteous:

9 Not rendering evil for evil, or railing for railing: but contrariwise blessing; knowing that ye are thereunto called, that ye should inherit a blessing.

10 For he that will love life, and see good days, let him refrain his tongue from evil, and his lips that they speak no guile:

11 Let him eschew evil, and do good; let him seek peace, and ensue it.

I noticed the instructions for responding to verbal abuse (no insulting back, but blessing). And I noticed a “no guile” sandwich (2:22; 3:10) around the renowned Sarah role model of submission . For me- timid, wimpy, weak, doormat type that I was- it meant I had to start speaking up. God would not allow me to continue to be conflict avoidant and brush things under the rug in denial. It was scary and I was absolutely horrible at it at first… Takes practice.

In reflecting upon this passage and upon the role model of Sarah, I have come to identify with Sarah.  She goes through a maturing process and comes to the place of having a great deal of influence and authority in her household. When Abram and Sarai are called, they don’t know God deeply at first. The covenants progress, and the accounts of them hearing God’s voice and seeing His miraculous interventions increase as they mature.

God’s miraculous interventions. HE is the same God. I’ve am more aware of His miraculous interventions now having experienced them so vividly on occasion And I think its probably far far more often than I am aware but I was not tuned in to give Him the credit for that. In fact I think that- like Joseph in the Bible- even things that were meant for evil and hurt me very deeply, even those things God has turned around for good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

